Flair

Carlton Palace: “the largest swimming pool of the world”!

Posted in Luxury by F on 08/19/2009

As soon as I was told to be listed as a guest for a few nights at the Carlton this summer, my enthusiasm for Cannes and the Croisette ran wild. I watched the movie To Catch a Thief for the 2000th. time and allow myself to think I would be absolutely irresistible in the lobby wearing a beautiful “beach suit” Grace Kelly like.

Grace Kelly - To Catch a Thief

 

Wow.. The Carlton Palace legend…! A majestic façade in front of the sea, the movie stars and a century of history in the heart of the French Riviera! I embraced the gift with a big smile.

Unfortunately, my outstanding imagination quickly ran out of hopes once the room check-in completed. After reviewing the Palace’s accommodation with the receptionist, my first question scored the bull’s eye.

“Is there a swimming pool at Carlton?”

 “Certainly, we do offer an access to the largest swimming pool of the world, it is right in front of the hotel, and the place is called the Mediterranean. We recommend making a reservation to the concierge, all seats get quickly busy answered the young lady.

“Is she making fun of me or should I work out my humour?” I thought.

 “Hello, le concierge s’il vous plaît. I am likely going to the beach, can you help?”

 “Certainly Madam, there are a few seats first row remaining, I would be pleased to keep one for you. It is 70€. Otherwise, there are ordinary seats in the backside at 35€”

“Hum.. No thank you, I think I rather be sitting on the soft sand, just like Grace Kelly!”

grace kelly - To catch a Thief

At that point I understood I was not in an ordinary palace. At the Carlton, the luxury experience of “well-being” means “show what you worth”. To be kindly acknowledged like a guest, act like a star, pay cash like a star and do not show any reluctance to afford huge tips wheter you are satisfied or not.

“Hello, le concierge s’il vous plaît. I wish to experience parascending, would you know how to book?”

 “Hum.. I don’t’ know, I do not practice myself” he answered.

“Okay, should I tip for the information?”

 Of course I should have thought twice before asking. What kind of people would wish a parachute experience when living in a Palace offering the largest swimming pool of the world! “Can’t you stay on a golden seat like the others?”

Fortunately I had another option: going to the bar! After 10 minutes standing-up on the marble, I could finally get the attention of the waiter.  

“S’il vous plaît, I would like a table for a drink.” 

To Catch a Thief

“Certainly, but you have to wait a short while, they are all reserved” he answered.

“Thank you, may I ask how do you represent short?”

As my patience is not my best quality, I rushed on a tall seat in front of the long wooden bar and outrageously relaxed, opened up my laptop.” So what? I am not sorry. That spot is the only one where there is Internet for free! ” ;-)  Panicked, the waiter found for me a nice table right away. Only one thing was wrong … 15 minutes later my glass and the cup of olives were still lying on the bar!

Aaaaahhh … the Carlton legend, a true fairy tale! 

PS: Since then, I have learnt where the largest swimming pool of the world is. It is in Chile, at San Alfonso del Mar resort. It is 1 kilometer long.

PS2: 750€ per night, I think I caught a thief !

Leave a comment